Zany PNR Addict











{October 31, 2013}   Cold Blooded Review (Blog Tour Part 2) …

Review … Cold Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Cold Blooded CoverTitle … Cold Blooded
Author … Amanda Carlson
Series … Jessica McClain
Genre … Urban Fantasy
Publisher … Orbit
Release Date … 10.8.13
Format … Trade or eBook
ISBN 13 … 9780316205221


Find Amanda Carlson Online …
WEBSITEBLOGFACEBOOKTWITTERGOODREADS


Book Summary (courtesy of GoodReads)

Jessica arrives back in town to find her best friend missing and the most powerful witch in the country is blaming her for it. But before they can move to save her, the group is attacked.

On the run, Jessica and Rourke head to the mountains. Several surprises await them, but in order to save her father they are forced to leave for New Orleans early. Arriving on the Vampire Queen’s doorstep unexpectedly, and bringing trouble on their heels, the Sects are thrown into an all out war. The vicious skirmish ends up forcing the vamps and Jessica to fight on the same team.

The Vamp Queen ends up owing Jessica, but what Jessica doesn’t realize is just how soon she’ll have to cash it in …

goodreads button


My Review
This book in 8 words of less …
ACTION PACKED SUSPENSE + FIERCE PASSION = AMAZE BALLS!

Cold Blooded was ABS-SO-FREAKIN-LUTELY AMAZING and in my opinion by far the most preeminent release of the Jessica McClain series!! When I was finished I was still tingling with elation from how everything in the book concluded for Jessica and her pack of misfits. TINGLES! That’s how wonderfully mind-blowing this book was. To be honest I didn’t want it to end. I was so engrossed in this book that it was hard for me to except that I had finished it.

Okie doke let’s do a relatively quick recap for the newbies … Jessica McClain is one of a kind, literally, the only full blooded female in her pack, her father is Alpha and long with her brother Tyler they try to protect Jessica as best as they can until all goes to hell. Other Sups from various Sects become aware of who she truly is and want to hunt her down for their own nefarious reasons. Among them are a pack of rogue wolves looking to overthrow the Alpha and just happen to be running with Vampires. After a brutal showdown where Jessica discovers some of her new powers she is left making an outrageous agreement with the Vampire Queen.

This brings us to Hot Blooded where Jessica sets out on a mission to rescue her delicious mate Rourke with the aid of her brother, fellow pack member Danny, two Vampires guides and a very grumpy sarcastic human detective. Along their journey they come across various obstacles that are trying to prevent them from reaching Rourke … killer bats, spiders as big as cats, sea wraiths and possessed goats were just some of the delights they had to deal with. The awesomeness doesn’t end there. Next up is an epic battle with a crazed Lunar Goddess who is hell-bent on keeping Rourke as her slave lover. If that wasn’t enough of a complication Jessica crosses paths with a High Lord Demon who’s there to demand retribution and delivers some startling news … a court date in hell. Muahaha! But you see Jessica’s no naive pup. She manages to temporarily wiggle her way out of that predicament simply to arrive at home to find a very pissed off witch looking for answers because her best friend Marcy and her father’s second in command James are missing.

Now we are up to Cold Blooded and I don’t want to spoil too much but I will tell you that it picks up right where Hot Blooded ended. Two people Jessica cares for are missing and at the same time explosions rock everyone off their feet and into the bushes … well her and Tally end up in the bushes. Not knowing where she should begin Jessica takes a chance on the witches and this is where the action begins. Time is of the essence. With just a few short weeks left until Jessica has to hold up her end of the bargain she made with the Vampire Queen she must figure out why sorcerers are chucking exploding blue orbs of magic at her, why they kidnapped her best friend, and what the hell the sorcerers want with her in the first place. As usually nothing goes as planned and Jessica has to seek help from unlikely sources that even managed to surprise me.

As mush as I love Jessica I have to admit most of my fan girl moments are aimed towards the secondary characters that at times steal Jessica’s thunder. Falling into this camp of misfits are Rourke, Danny, Naomi, Tyler, and shockingly Ray. Out of everyone my heart belongs to Rourke and I couldn’t have been more tickled pink then I was while reading Cold Blooded. My man got the much needed face time he deserves … not that I wouldn’t have enjoyed more but what I did get to witness … oh mama did it get hot in here … excuse me while I fan myself to douse down the flames of my very naughty thoughts. Oh wait, I can’t because Rourke is like a chocolate truffle, a sinfully delectable morsel that I would devour slowly just to savior his unique flavor and feast on his exquisite deliciousness that would ultimately leave me wanting more. I just want more. I just want more.

Cold-Blood-FB-Cover

In addition to what we discover about Rourke, Ray also shares the spotlight in this installment. So many questions are signing around in my head about his character that I don’t even know which one to investigate first. It’s just totally surprising the role his character has taken and by the end of Cold Blooded Ray wormed his way into my heart. I am very interested in the unique path that has been set for him. Take my word for it, if you don’t read this book for anything else you have to read it for the secrets and mysteries that are revealed about not only Ray and Rourke, but Eudoxia the Vampire Queen as well.


Final Thoughts
So if you haven’t been bitten by the wolf of curiosity in regards to Amanda Carlson’s Jessica McClain series by now you are missing out because this book is EPIC! So epic that I’m going to be climbing the walls waiting for the next installment … the anticipation is playing hell on my nerves. I kid you not! This series is fun, witty, well-paced, driven, intriguing and unpredictable … Jessica and her crew will have you on the edge of your seat thirsting for more! I know I am!

heart_5

Click here for … Cold Blooded Blog Tour Part 1

Leave a Reply

  • 18+ Content
  • Zany RiN

    Zany RiN at Your Service!

    Zany RiN at Your Service!

  • Zany Life of RiN

    Last Week's Thanksgiving Spread featuring kit from @scribbleprintsco before the pen
.
.
.
#planner #planneraddict #plannernerd #plannergeek #plannernewbie #plannerstickers #ecplanner #eclp #verticalplanner #erincondren #plannerjunkie #stickeraddict #plannergirl #plannerlove #weeklyspread #showmeyourplanner #plannercommunity #plannerlife #plannergoodies #esty #scribbleprintsco Don't know how it was warmer when I went to work this morning when it was dark and cloudy then colder when I leave and it is sunny and the clouds in the sky are so pretty. #weirdweather Fun day at the Pumpkin Patch with the cutest beastie ever and the bestie. My early morning view. The only thing worth enjoying that time of day is seeing the sky come awake. #EarlyWorkLife #NotAMorningPerson
  • Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 577 other followers

  • Zany Addict Stats

    • 5,570 Stalkers
  • Statistic by Dawn Robertson

  • Author Accomplice
  • Cold Blooded Blog Tour

  • Proud Member Of …

  • Proud Member Of …

    Harmless Addicts
  • Proud Member Of …

    Mel's Militia
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Polls Up …

  • Challenges …

    Midnyte Reader AAD Challenge
  • Goodreads

  • Blogs, Blogs & More Blogs …

    Smitten With Bad Boy Heroes
  •  photo faeryink_linklogo_180x250_zps920c2ced.png

  • N.L. Dufour
  • Midnite Reader
  • Para Junkee
  • Follow on Bloglovin

  • Tweeters Up …

et cetera