Zany PNR Addict











{October 31, 2013}   Cold Blooded Blog Tour & Giveaway (Part 1) …

Hey everyone, today is a special day here at Zany PNR Addict. What’s happening you may ask? Well, in honor of today being Halloween and all we have with us today the uber talented Amanda Carlson here to talk about her Jessica McClain series and it’s most recent release … Cold Blooded. I asked her a series of questions … some about the series and some about the author herself. So sit back and enjoy. If you need to grab your snacks or your beverage of choice you may want to hurry. I would hate for you to miss out on all the fun about to be had.
** Following the Interview continue on for My Review of Cold Blooded! **

Interview Button

Series Questions …

• If Summit Entertainment came to you about turning your series into a movie or a television show 1) which would you prefer were made and 2) who would make the cut for your fantasy cast?

Normally I would’ve said movie, but with True Blood, The Walking Dead, and The Game of Thrones on TV they’ve brought series television to an entirely new level. Either would be spectacular, really.

As for casting, I’m totally bad at this game, because I don’t have a concrete image in my mind for any of my characters, and I really love it when readers come up with their own interpretations. That said, I’d have to say Jess would be a cross between a young Catherine Zeta-Jones and Jennifer Garner, and Rourke would be a cross between Tom Hardy and Chris Hemsworth.

JM-Cast

• If you have to pick one romantic scene or couple to recommend to a first time reader of your books, which or who would it be and why?

If I’m recommending a new series/books to readers who have read my books, and are looking for more hot romances and couples, I would recommend anything by Kresley Cole. You can’t go wrong.

• Which book of your series has been your most favorite to write and which has been your most frustrating?

Each one has become the favorite while I’m writing it. I think that’s true for many authors. You fall in love with the book you’re currently working on, and if it’s not better than the last, then that may be an indication something may have gone wrong, LOL. I haven’t had any serious frustrations writing this series yet. Every book has been so much fun. But possibly books in the future may be a little more frustrating because I have to make sure I get all my facts straight.

• In your opinion, what makes your series different from others Urban Fantasies that are out there?

I always try to put my own spin on anything I do, and the same is true for my books. I’m also heavy on action and humor with a slant toward strong family bonds. A lot of books out there can be very dark, but mine tend to be light and happy. I love that Jessica has a strong family and her friends are invaluable.

Author Questions …

• What is the most unique or most ugliest item you own and why do you keep it?

Probably the rugs my dad designed are the most unique and wonderful. He’s an architect and an accomplished artist (his artwork is equally as awesome). He has designed one of a kind rugs and they were woven in Nepal. So gorgeous and fun.

• What are you reading right now or what books have you had your eye on that you haven’t had time to read?

I’m reading Amanda Bonilla’s new UF series VENGANCE BORNE. It’s awesome!

•Who do you think is the sexiest Supernatural (male and female not of your own) from a movie or book?

How about the sexiest guy who kills Supernaturals??? I have an ongoing deep infatuation with Daryl Dixon from The Walking Dead right now. I’m also waiting for Tom Hardy to play a superhero, not a supervillan. Though, Chris Helmseworth as Thor was awesome. I guess I’d have to say Thor because I’m excited to see the movie.

• What are some (if any) of the quirks or habits you find yourself doing when you are writing?

To clear my head between scenes often times I play Candy Crush. I used to play Scrabble, but CC is a shorter break. I also wear industrial headphones, the kind air traffic controllers wear when I want to go into a zone.

Oh Amanda … how you make me chuckle! Thank you such much for stopping by and sharing with us Jessica McClain Fans.

Thank you so much for hosting me today! So excited COLD BLOODED is out in the wild.
Hope anyone who’s considering starting the series enjoys it and to all my fans, thanks for reading!

About the Author

amanda carlson I’m a Minnesota girl, born and bred. I started writing stories about teenage girls and their social missteps when I was in high school. I still have the handwritten spiral notebooks to prove it.

I started writing in earnest after my second child was born. After purchasing our first computer, I thought to myself, what better way to spend my time than e-mailing unsuspecting family members super cute stories about my exceptionally darling children? Isn’t that what computers were made for anyway?

The writer in me stretched and gave a defiant shove. I was hooked.

I jumped into writing classes, joined local writing chapters, organized author book signings, joined critique groups and participated in conferences. I had a blast writing a column in a local food & wine publication, and eventually tied together all my parenting stories into one full compilation.

My first fiction attempt was a contemporary romance, but I couldn’t seem to find the story. After my kids starting bringing home YA urban fantasy, I suddenly knew where my passion for fiction writing had been hiding. It was inside the action packed pages of an Urban Fantasy novel. Reading each new series was so much fun, I quickly realized this genre brought something to the storyline I hadn’t really seen before. It brought a hefty shot of adrenaline combined with a side of female kickass, all combined with that element of “other” I found so intriguing.

After reading YA, I picked up every adult UF I could get my hands on and I’ve been fully immersed in this genre ever since. On occasion I still pick up a “regular” book. But for the most part I find them lacking in superpowers and the excitement of the unexpected.

I started FULL BLOODED because kickass heroines rock and I love shifters of all kinds. There aren’t enough warm-blooded girls to go around, in my opinion. I fell into Jessica’s story and had such a great time writing it. I couldn’t imagine writing anything other than urban fantasy now.

When you’re creating a story in this fantastic genre, it can contain almost any elements you can dream up. Creatively, for me, there’s nothing better.

Now I think it’s about time to share it with all of you.

Amanda is a graduate of the University of Minnesota, with a BA in both Speech and Hearing Science & Child Development. She went on to get an A.A.S in Sign Language Interpreting and worked as an interpreter until her first child was born. She enjoys playing Scrabble to an unhealthy degree, shopping trips to Ikea and has a great weakness for tropical beaches. She lives in Minneapolis with her husband and three kids.

linedivider_reverse

Find Amanda Online …
WEBSITEBLOGFACEBOOKTWITTERGOODREADS

lineDivider

Giveaway Button

Cold Blooded giveaway

Click on the Swag Image ↑↑↑↑↑ to enter for a chance to win some really awesome Jessica McClain goodies!

Click here for … Cold Blood Blog Tour Part 2

Leave a Reply

  • 18+ Content
  • Zany RiN

    Zany RiN at Your Service!

    Zany RiN at Your Service!

  • Zany Life of RiN

    This face ya'll! He brings so much joy to my life. - with @hotlyps01 #BirthdayBoy #playdatewithmybeastie My Squishy enjoying the ticket blaster with his Sissy Beylee! - with @hotlyps01 #BirthdayBoy #playdatewithmybeastie Nyxie Nu thinks we should just chill and finish reading Undeserving by Madeline Sheehan until it's time for my Squishy's birthday party. #catsofinstagram #lazyday #playdatewithmybeastie The amount of videos I have to watch from this week alone is astronomical! Especially when I am trying the binge 2 seasons of GoT during all my free time before the new one starts. #plannergirlproblems #pwm #gameofthrones #teamdaenarys
  • Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 577 other followers

  • Zany Addict Stats

    • 5,559 Stalkers
  • Statistic by Dawn Robertson

  • Author Accomplice
  • Cold Blooded Blog Tour

  • Proud Member Of …

  • Proud Member Of …

    Harmless Addicts
  • Proud Member Of …

    Mel's Militia
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Polls Up …

  • Challenges …

    Midnyte Reader AAD Challenge
  • Goodreads

  • Blogs, Blogs & More Blogs …

    Smitten With Bad Boy Heroes
  •  photo faeryink_linklogo_180x250_zps920c2ced.png

  • N.L. Dufour
  • Midnite Reader
  • Para Junkee
  • Follow on Bloglovin

  • Tweeters Up …

et cetera